The Rainbow Oaks Restaurant, originally established in 1946, reopened in April 09, newly remodeled to restore the interior of the historic building to become a gathering place for locals, travelers and bikers to engage in fine, yet affordable dining for breakfast, lunch and dinner serving traditional American cuisine.
The Restaurant includes a sports-bar serving numerous draft beers and chilled wine in an environment surrounded by local timbers that have been salvaged from the 2007 fire that spread across north San Diego County and then milled special for the walls, ceiling and bar-top of the restaurant. Where there used to be a lounge with a low, dark ceiling, there are now hundreds of light, locally milled, rough-cut timbers reaching to a 20-foot tall peak in the main dining room. The bar is an equally impressive slab of cedar, and similar wooden touches everywhere. There is plenty of outside seating to enjoy a meal, a beer, a smoke or the fresh air if you desire. The original retro-neon sign is visible from interstate 15 and stands tall, sending out an invitation to passers-by seeking a good, hot meal and a very unique dining experience.